You are here: Home Research Topics Neuroanatomy & Neurophysiology

Neuroanatomy & Neurophysiology in Freiburg

Neuroanatomy & Neurophysiology

 

Studying the anatomy and organisation of nervous systems is the subject of neuroanatomy research. This entails the stereotyped organisation of nervous systems such as the central nervous system (CNS) and peripheral nervous system (PNS) in the spinal cord of vertebrates. Researching such distinct regions and structures of the nervous system are at the core of neuroanatomy – and a crucial element to understanding how it functions.

As an area of physiology, Neurophysiology concerns the study of how the nervous system functions. For this purpose, neurophysiologists create electrophysiological recordings, using techniques such as voltage clamp, patch clamp, calcium imaging, optogenetics, and molecular biology. Thus, neurophysiology draws closely from related fields such as neurobiology, electrophysiology, neurology, clinical neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, cognitive science, biophysics, psychology, mathematical biology, and other fields concerning the brain.

 

 

Principal Investigators

Ad Aertsen

Prof. em. Dr. Ad Aertsen

Neurobiology and Biophysics

ad.aertsen@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

Michael Bach

Prof. Dr. Michael Bach

Visual Neuroscience & Electrophysiology

michael.bach@uni-freiburg.de

Marlene Bartos

Prof. Dr. Marlene Bartos

Systemic and Cellular Neurophysiology

marlene.bartos@physiologie.uni-freiburg.de

Johann Bollmann

PD Dr. Johann Bollmann

Systems Neuroscience

Philippe Coulon

PD Dr. Philippe Coulon

Optophysiology

philippe.coulon@biologie.uni-freiburg.de
Ilka Diester

Prof. Dr. Ilka Diester

Optophysiology

ilka.diester@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

Ulrich Egert

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Egert

Biomicrotechnology

ulrich.egert@imtek.uni-freiburg.de

Carola Haas

Prof. Dr. Carola Haas

Experimental Epilepsy Research

carola.haas@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Sven Heinrich

PD Dr. Sven Heinrich

Visual System and Electrophysiology

sven.heinrich@uni-freiburg.de

Ulrich Hofmann

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Hofmann

Neuroelectronic Systems

ulrich.hofmann@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Robert-Benjamin Illing

Prof. Dr. Robert Illing

Neurobiological Research Lab - ENT Clinic

robert.illing@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Christian Leukel

Jun. Prof. Dr. Christian Leukel

Neuroscience in Sport

christian.leukel@sport.uni-freiburg.de

Carsten Mehring

Prof. Dr. Carsten Mehring

Neurobiology and Neurotechnology

carsten.mehring@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

Dierk Reiff

Prof. Dr. Dierk Reiff

Animal Physiology, Neurobiology and Behavior

dierk.reiff@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

Janine Reis

Dr. med. Janine Reis

Neurology & Neurophysiology

janine.reis@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Andrew Straw

Prof. Dr. Andrew Straw

Neural Circuits and Behavior

Andreas Vlachos

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vlachos

Neuroanatomy

andreas.vlachos@anat.uni-freiburg.de

Matthias Wittlinger

Dr. Matthias Wittlinger

Neurobiology and Behavior

matthias.wittlinger@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

 

Please fill in the contact form, if you would like to be included in the above list.