You are here: Home Research Topics Neurotechnology

Neurotechnology in Freiburg

Neurotechnology

 

In a very general sense, the term Neurotechnology defines any artificial means to interact with the workings of the brain. This means that pharmacological treatment and adjustments of brain activity are just as much a part of neurotechnology as technical and computational tools. These measure and analyse electrical and chemical signals in the nervous system, both in the brain and in the limbs. But it also entails technical tools which interact with the nervous system to change its activity, for example to restore sensory input such as with cochlea implants to restore hearing or deep brain stimulation to stop tremors and treat other pathological conditions.

Neurotechnology research in this context includes all research that contributes to these systems, including, for example, solving problems of encapsulation of electronic circuits, simulations of neuronal networks and cultural biological networks to understand their properties, and the development of surgical implantation techniques.

 

Principal Investigators

Ad Aertsen

Prof. em. Dr. Ad Aertsen

Neurobiology and Biophysics

ad.aertsen@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

Maria Asplund

Dr. Maria Asplund

ElectroActive Coatings

maria.asplund@imtek.uni-freiburg.de

ball.jpg

PD Dr. med. Tonio Ball

Translational Neurotechnology

tonio.ball@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Joschka Boedecker

Dr. Joschka Boedecker

Neurorobotics

jboedeck@informatik.uni-freiburg.de

Johann Bollmann

PD Dr. Johann Bollmann

Systems Neuroscience

Wolfram Burgard

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Burgard

Autonomous Intelligent Systems

burgard@informatik.uni-freiburg.de

diester_klein.jpg

Prof. Dr. llka Diester

Optophysiology

ilka.diester@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

egert.jpg

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Egert

Biomicrotechnology

ulrich.egert@imtek.uni-freiburg.de

Ulrich Hofmann

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Hofmann

Neuroelectronic Systems

ulrich.hofmann@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Frank Hutter

Prof. Dr. Frank Hutter

Machine Learning

fh@cs.uni-freiburg.de

Matthias Kuhl

Prof. Dr. Matthias Kuhl

Modeling and Design of Integrated Interface Circuits

matthias.kuhl@imtek.uni-freiburg.de

Carsten Mehring

Prof. Dr. Carsten Mehring

Neurobiology and Neurotechnology

carsten.mehring@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

Oliver Paul

Prof. Dr. Oliver Paul

Microsystem Materials

paul@imtek.de

Patrick Ruther

Dr. Patrick Ruther

MEMS-based neural probe technology

ruther@imtek.de

Thomas Stieglitz

Prof. Dr. Thomas Stieglitz

Biomedical Microtechnology

stieglitz@imtek.uni-freiburg.de

Andrew Straw

Prof. Dr. Andrew Straw

Neural Circuits and Behavior

Michael Tangermann

PD Dr. Michael Tangermann

Brain State Decoding

 

Please fill in the contact form, if you would like to be included in the above list.